• Price
  • Facts
  • Offers
  • Co-ordinates: 30°55’32” N 79°4’52″E
  • Difficulty level: Difficult
  • Maximum temperature: -4 °c 
  • Minimum Temperature: -8 °c
  •  Maximum Altitude: 14,202 feet
  • This trek takes you to the very source from where River Ganga flows. Located on the Gangotri Glacier at the height of 13,200ft., this is a challenging trek but offers the most majestic sights you can imagine. From Gaumukh and Baghirathi sisters to the entirety of Mt. Shivling , witness some of the most gorgeous peaks up-close on this trek.

    Route: Dehradun — Dharali — Chirbasa- Bhojbasa — Tapovan –Bhojbasa — Dehradun

    No. of days: 6-7 days

Day 1: Dehradun – Dharali


Drive from Dehradun to the starting point of the trek, Dharali. The camp is located 20 from Gangotri and is the first pit-stop. Overnight stay in Dharali.


Day 2: Dharali – Gangotri – Chirbasa (11,781 ft, 9km)


Drive from Dharali to Gangotri (10,055 ft), the source of River Ganga.

Once at Gangotri, we start our first leg of trekking towards chirbasa. The route has moderate ascent in the beginning, after which it gets considerably easy. This route will take you to the Forest Check Post fro,from where you can spot the first peak of your trek, Sudarshan Parbat (21,345 ft.). Following th  left Side of the mountain, we will walk beside the Bhagirathi River. Expect to see numerous waterfalls on this route. After crossing a few bridges, we will enter a spot where the valley will be sprawled ahead of us. This is an ideal spot for birdwatching. Trek for 45 minutes moe and reach the campsite that is situated next to Bhagirathi River. Overnight stay.


Day 3: Chirbasa – Bhojbasa (12,450 ft.)


Today is again a moderate and gradual ascent towards Bhojbasa. The trail is lined with majestic Chir trees and offers views of snow peaks. After walking 100m, we will reach the main Gaumukh train and then head to cross a ridge. The Bhagirathi Peak will now be in full view, and after one hour of walking in rocky, landslide-prone area, we will enter a valley. From here, the walk is flat and gorgeous, giving you a view of Gaumukh Glacier. Reach Bhojbasa, an open campsite and stay overnight.


Day 4: Bhojbasa – Gaumukh (12,450 ft., 9km) – Bhojbasa

Today is only an acclimatisation walk since we will be at a considerable height. After 10 minutes of walking towards the Gaumukh trail head, we will climb an ascent for 2 hours. We will now have a full view of Mt. Shivling and then Gaumukh. From here, the trek is rocky with big boulders serving as obstacles. After an hour’s climb, we climb a moraine and reach vantage point of Gaumukh. Head back to Bhojbasa.


Day 5: Bhojbasa – Tapovan (via Gaumukh), 14,202 ft.) – Bhojbasa (8 hours)


Following the same route as the previous day, we head from Gaumukh to Tapovan. This is the most difficult part of the trek among all other days. We will be crossing steep spots, landslide-prone areas and a glacial stream called Akash-Ganga. After a slippery climb, you’ll hit a rock face that you will need to climb. After 3.5 hours of climb, you will be at Tapovan. Enjoy majestic views of snow-peaks from Tapovan. In terms of view, this is the best location throughout the trek. You can see Mt Shivling, Meru, Sumeru, Bhagirathi peaks, Thenu and Sudarshan Parbat. The landscape up here is made of alpine meadows. We cross a ridge to Neelatal and return to Bhohjbasa.


Day 6: Bhojbasa – Dharali (via Gangotri) (10,055 ft. 7km)


Today, we trace our steps back to the starting point of the trek. The landscape throughout is magical. The snow-peaks keep playing peak-a-boo and the expanse of valleys and meadows will astonish you. Take a break by Bhagirathi River and continue your descend. Drive to Dehradun the same day.

Best time to undertake: May- June and August – October